Elton John, “I Don’t Wanna Go On With You Like That” (MCA, 1988)

Discussing “Nikita” with Alfred (re: the charts of March 1986), he asked what grade I’d give it. I’ve always loved its ridiculous lushness (those synths! those overwrought lyrics!) and told him it gets a B from me. He then asked, “What about ‘I Don’t Wanna Go On With You Like That’?” I immediately exclaimed, excitedly, “Oh, an A-!” I love Chris Thomas’s production on it — so bouncy. Not to mention that Elton sounds re-energized, like a man who believes what he’s singing again. (Let’s recall, the mid-’80s were not kind to him, from his sham marriage to “Sassoon Sad Songs Say So Much.”) And his piano playing is on point. It was his biggest US hit of the ’80s, stopped at #2 by his BFF George Michael’s “Monkey” (now, there’s a top two). Oh, and the Shep Pettibone remix of “Go On” is the ’80s-est thing the ’80s ever ’80s’d. Hear for yourself:

 

About thomasinskeep

I write about music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.